Brain it on

Did you know that your brain is so powerful, it can actually make you physically sick even if there is nothing wrong with your body. This is what’s been happening to me for the past couple of months. I didn’t even realize, but I’ve been getting so anxious that my brain has been causing me to get physically ill. Some of the worst stomach pains and nausea in my entire life, yet after going to the emergency department and hospital and having everything checked it shows there is literally nothing wrong with my stomach, or anywhere else.

It’s absolutely incredible to think that your brain has the power to manipulate how you feel so drastically. It’s also very scary. However I guess what you have to remember is if your brain can make you feel that sick, it must be able to stop it as well. I’m not exactly sure why I’ve been more anxious than normal the past couple of months. It could be I decided to take on too much by going back to work and tafe. It could be that I actually was a bit sick from a bug or virus and it just made my anxiety get out of control without me even noticing. It could be just continued trauma or implications of my depression and drug addiction issues that have battered me over the past 14 months.

To be honest, it doesn’t really matter why. It only matters that I’ve recognized it. That’s the first step to resolving any issue that is neurological. Recognition and acceptance is vital if you wish to resolve such a problem. I have to try exceptionally hard to not get stressed, anxious, or worried. I have to regularly monitor my own thoughts and breathing patterns. Slowing your breathing down and reassuring yourself that everything is alright goes a long way in helping you remain calm. It may not even feel like it at first, but it absolutely does. I believe that drinking plenty of water and trying to maintain normal eating patterns goes a long way too. Anxiety induced nausea really feels like its hurting your ability to eat and drink, but you have to see past that and force yourself to eat with the belief that you are not actually sick. If you don’t keep up hydration and eating everything will spiral out of control quickly and it becomes harder and harder to regain normal functions.

The key is to not let yourself worry about the nausea or symptoms. If you worry, you just get more anxious and it gets worse. It’s another vicious spiral that can send you to hell very quickly if you don’t recognize it and keep calm and in control.

It’s been hard, but I now thankfully have it under control. I’ve not had any stomach pains or nausea for over a week and although I am still very anxious, at least it’s not so intense. I’ve been power walking for at least 1 hour for the past couple of days, which has made a tremendous difference. This morning is the first morning in a while that I’ve woken up feeling pretty much normal. Happy to be alive and looking forward to what lies ahead in the day. My morning actually started off with going to the optometrist, who  happens to be a fantastic guy. If you are looking for one then I absolutely 100% recommend Eyedesign Eyewear (top level of Bridgepoint, Mosman). Jason, is a fantastic guy. He’s really friendly and down to earth, it basically feels like visiting a friend. We even talked about life and stuff and it was so easy, he’s not just my optometrist, he’s also my friend .

This one was written in two parts, which is why it might seem odd chronologically, but I didn’t feel the first part was enough and I needed more time to know what else to write.

Today is a good day, and while I’m enjoying it, I know that I still have many mountains to climb, so if you happen to have a good day or two, don’t take off your climbing gear because you never know when the next mountain appears.

I guess you could say without these mountains life would be boring, because you’d be able to see everything ahead of you. That actually doesn’t sound that good at all, so in some ways I’m glad that my life is eventful, even if it does feel like playing on nightmare mode.

Relationships with my family have never been stronger, and I’ve been with the girl of my dreams for over 5 months now. Everything is looking good, and I just have to try and keep that in mind when things get tough.

And believe me, things will get tough, but I am strong, and so are you.

Published by: Kinkymuffin

I've been through a lot, like many others before me, and many more to come. Drug addiction is no joke. It's a war that never ends. I've learned to cope with my addiction by writing truthfully about it. If it can help just one person, then it was worth it.

Categories Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Brain it on”

  1. You are absolutely spot on with this. There’s a reason we say “worried sick” – emotional trauma can make you physically ill and force you into a downward spiral.. It happens to everyone, but not everyone realises! Thanks for sharing your experience 🙂

  2. Hit the nail on the head with this one. There’s a reason we say “worried sick”… emotional trauma can make you physically ill and force you into a downward spiral. It happens to everyone at some point, but not everyone is aware of it! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

